top of page
Search
  • Writer's picture808Noise Group

Who is Chad Rico? (INTERVIEW)



Where are we talking from today and how is summer 2019 so far?


I'm in West Oakland. I'm proud to say I brought my first property here before gentrification sky rocketed the prices. 2019 has been off to a great start getting a lot of love from these singles. Been back and forth to LA doing promo for my new EP project "12 Weeks of Summer" and now getting ready to head to the east coast, then Europe.


What does summer mean to you and how is 2019 so far? My birthday is in June and I'm from California, so summers are everything. It's also been the time when I focus in on my dreams and goals. And so far, amazing!


Would you say that friends/family support your drive & passion for music?

My parents are here for it and I'm so happy about that. I appreciate all my family and friends who support me. As far as the ones that don't, they aren't as close to me right now so I don't know lol!


Would you say it is harder for an emcee to create a fan base due to technology + social media?

Yes and no. I have a background in business, so it required me to do a lot of research and that took time. It's a lot easier to drop music now these days but getting your music noticed is something totally different. Finding ways to do that without jeopardizing my integrity has been an obstacle that I enjoyed facing.


How did you settle on your alias - Chad Rico?

My real name is Chad-Eric and I was called Chadrick by family and eventually people changed it to Chad Rico, and I liked it. Particularly a friend of mine's mom was the first one to use and I went with it.



You have entered a busy & exciting time with your "12 Weeks of Summer". Explain how long you were working to make this a reality?

I recorded over the span of 6 to 8 months and had this collection of singles - that is how the project came about. Actually it is over 20 songs and I chose twelve. We have been releasing a single a week now and will continue to do so for 12 tracks!


How did you choose the beats for the album and give us insight into a studio session with you? I frequently work with Uncle Ren and he is always sending me beats so it definitely keeps me motivated. I also had a chance to work with Mike Watts out in the Bay Area and a couple I won't mention because it will be on the next project. When my studio sessions are planned out, most of the time I have already written a hook and a verse. Then I freestyle the second verse. Sometimes I freestyle it all. I also let my moods determine the type of feeling I want for the song.


If you were to do a full budget music video for 1 of the songs which one and how would that look?

We already have a treatment done for "Legend in the Coupe." It will be a sideshow experience. With my background in film writing, at Gold & Gems my team and I strive to make creative and fun videos and we won't disappoint with this one.


When you hit the stage how do get the crowd lit and play to the crowd?

I try to give them my energy for each song. I like to plan out everything, so I'm always planning out my shows too.


When you are not making music what is life like - work / family / hobbies / etc? I'm a college math professor. I'm doing real estate. I'm also working film and clothing. So, keeping myself busy. Gold & Gems will be dropping movies in 2020 so stay tuned and you can always grab something at http://goldandgemsstore.com.


What are you excited for the next 6 months and where can we follow & like you?

I'm excited to see the response to the music and videos. I'm also excited to see what we have coming for movies very soon. Check out chadrico.com and goldandgemsstore.com to stay tuned and also follow on Instagram - internationalchadrico and on Twitter - intlchadrico and Facebook at Chad Rico and stay up to date on the progress!



9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page